2011: A Review

So it would seem that another year is over.  This year for me has just absolutely flown by so quickly I have no idea of where it went…..

I travelled to Sydney in January, February, May, June, August and December.  Twice for work and the rest for holidays.  I travelled to Mount Gambier on New Year’s Eve 2010 and 2011.

I didn’t work much at my second job but I did work some crazy hours at my first job.  I had 8 people leave my team (with another one on the way as we speak) and I trained another 8 to take their places.  Right now, I’m still one team member down and with the one that is currently leaving this will take me to 2 down and I still have someone going on holidays for 3 weeks in January.

When I did have a full trained team it was awesome.  Unfortunately, those times have been far and few between.  I learnt how to juggle even more and I also learnt how to be flexible and also how to ignore work.

For the year ahead; I want to learn how to be more balanced, how to actually walk out the door on time.  I plan on going to the gym more often and also more consistently.  I have applied to uni to study a Degree in Management with the view of going onto the Diploma in Project Management.  I’ll also help my Dad with his business and work are currently talking to me about a new role that is completely different to the one that I have.

I started going to quilt class in 2011 mainly for the company and to meet people that have the same interests as me.  It was good and I really enjoyed it and look forward to going again next year.

This lead to me sewing more.  I finished 12 quilts (10 quilts, 1 bed runner and 1 quilt cushion) of which 5 were WIPs/UFOs.

2011 Finished Quilts

I also started a few more tops than I finished and I finished quite a few from the bits and bobs stage to a completed flimsy top; there are 13 in total, but I could only find photos of 11 of them.

2011 WIPs

I bought 3 lines of fabric; Sunkissed by Sweetwater, Kingdom by Jessica Levitt and Woodland by Natalie Lymer.  I drooled over Countdown to Christmas by Sweetwater and I very nearly bought that as well but I managed to restrain myself and only purchased a Jelly Roll.  I also bought lots of other bits and pieces.  Some to finish quilts, others for backing purposes and some just ’cause it was pretty 🙂

I spent a lot of time on the computer reading blogs and hence I have quilt a few more quilt ideas in my head that I haven’t even begun!

And now, I just want to wish you all a very Happy New Year!

May it be full of growth, fantastic opportunities, challenges, ups and downs (to appreciate the ups), new friends, old friends, fresh starts, inspiration, creativity and enough to do it all in 🙂

Leave a comment