My Mug Rug

Kingdom Mug Rug

Well, technically it’s not really mine as I have already given it away but it was mine for a short little while 🙂

I was reading my blogs in Google Reader the other week and John (aka Quilt Dad) posted a link to a Mug Rug that he had designed made out of Jessica Levitt’s Kingdom fabrics.

Side Note:  The week or so before that I had read a post that Jessica had written about her Kingdom fabrics being launched and she showed a picture of her quilt that she had designed with the fabric and I immediately fell in love with it.  I had to have the fabric and make the quilt!  I am trying not to spend money so for a few days I debated and debated and debated about whether I should get it or not.  I can’t remember what arguement won however, one night I was pushing buttons on Sew Mama Sew and then soon enough I had Kingdom to make the quilt 🙂

Anyways, so I saw John’s pattern, fell in love with it because it’s cute and has Kingdom fabrics in it and immediately knew that I would make it for a friend who is going through a tough time.

Last Saturday, I had a few spare hours between getting home from a coffee date with a few friends to going out for dinner with another friend and I was feeling creative and suitably inspired, so I made the top and quilted it, then on Sunday I added the blue flange, put the binding on it and also the B for her inital.

I was thinking of putting a tree like this one as applique with her inital under it but I couldn’t wrap my head around how to make the tree as it seemed a bit too complicated to trace onto the SteamASeam and I couldn’t find anything else that I liked that was easier so I just went with the B.

I then gave it to her on the Monday and she loved it.  She was nearly in tears.  I love it too and I have a few birthdays coming up so I’m thinking I have a few more in my future 🙂

I also started the Kingdom Quilt (as I’m calling it) on Monday 31/10/11.  I couldn’t find any pink/magenta like Jessica used so I went with what I had in my stash.  I’m not sure it’s working or not but for the moment I’m going with it 🙂

I don’t have a lot of time to spend on it currently as work is crazy and I’m there a lot but I am making progress.

I’m planning on hitting Tricia’s Quilt Shop up today for some more pink fabric for my hexagons (I need another 600 of them and I’m finding I don’t have enough variety so fabric shopping is a must!) so I’ll look there for a deeper magenta for the Kingdom Quilt and then if I find any I like I’ll substitute that in and use the blocks that I’m not going to use on the back.

I so love this quilt.  I have a picture of it as a screen saver on my iPhone and I can’t wait until mine is finished.

Kingdom Quilt

Anyways, I think I’ve babbled enough for one post…..

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

