The Last Thing

The Beginnings

So, the last thing I need right now is a new project but guess what I started on Sunday afternoon?????

I saw this pattern online in January (I’ll reveal which one is it later when I’m done 🙂 ) and I’ve been thinking about it ever since.  I’ve been wondering about what fabric to use as I didn’t think I had anything that would be suitable and I didn’t really want to buy any more but on the weekend I found a solution.

Over the weekend I remembered that quite some time ago when Leanne Beasley’s Butterfly Garden came out I got a pack of the fabric that she used to make her quilt as I was going to make one the same.  When I got the fabric though, I changed my mind and decided that I would do it in more modern colours.

Of course, then I changed my mind and only did the first block and gave up the rest of the quilt as too much work 🙂

So, the fabric has been percolating away in my fabric box until I remembered it.

The Middle

I made a boo boo when I cut the fabric out.  I thought that my pieces weren’t going to be big enough to get 5′ squares out of them so I cut out 9 3′ squares per bit instead.  It was only after I finished cutting up all of my fabric that I realised that I could have easily got my 5′ squares out of it!

And then tonight I realised that I should have squared off the squares once I had them in a four patch to 5′ square.  Doh!

I now have another border to go in the fabrics from the centre but I don’t think that I have enough so I’m going to dash to Hettie’s Patch tomorrow afternoon and get some more to blend in.

I hope the pattern will work but I have a feeling that my grey/black fabric is too dark and it isn’t going to work.  But I won’t know for sure until I get the second border on.  If it doesn’t work I’m thinking I’ll put a smaller border in green (perhaps) and then put the second border on and then the pink flange and then the dark grey fabric and bind it in grey.

But, we’ll see.  I’ll go shopping first and then work it out from there.

My PT also told me yesterday that he and his wife are having a baby in September so I’ve got another quilt in mind which I’ll make gender neutral and I’ll hold onto this one and that one until the baby is born and then choose which one to give to them.

Anyways, it’s time for bed with a very early morning tomorrow.

Sweet Dreams 🙂

 

 

 

One thought on “The Last Thing

Leave a Reply

