Binding is (half) Done

Blue Lagoon

Work has gone crazy due as we are now in the final month of our year. Unfortunately, this means that I’m putting a few more hours than I normally would.  I also have a new work project on the go that is due in the first week of April so it’s all a bit busy and stressfull at the moment.

It also means that I’m not getting the time to sew like I want to 😦

Sunday I went to work (I did try to avoid it by going in all day on Saturday but unfortunately it wasn’t enough) and I had done enough by 2pm that I was comfortable leaving.

So, I came home and sat my butt down in front of my machine and sewed my little heart out 🙂

I finished machine sewing the binding of Blue Lagoon on.  Now all that needs to be done is the hand sewing on the back.  I’m not sure where I’m going to find time to so do that but I’m hoping to have it done by the end of March (maybe).

Dad's Cushion

I also started sewing a cushion for Dad.  I decided to use one of Mary’s recent patterns Churn Dash Stars.

Dad has requested that it be in black, white and red and be 80cm (31.5′) square so that is what I’m working towards.

Although, I think now that Spotlight near me is closed I’m going to have to ban myself from starting new projects at 4.30pm on a Sunday afternoon as even though the pattern is the wrong size and I don’t have enough of the black and white fabric for the whole cushion I still started making it!  Doh!  If only patience was one of my virtues 😀

The fabric I’ll fix tomorrow by seeing if I can find some more of the same type of fabric and the size, well, I’ll just have to add a border!  I’m thinking of adding a red flange and then a black border without binding but we’ll see what happens once the centre is made 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Binding is (half) Done

  1. This was one of the few scrap quilts I make that had a single background and I had to design the size of my quilt around the fabric that I had. I love the colors and I’m sure you’ll figure out the size. I love the idea of a red flange with a black border too.

Leave a Reply

