2011: Finish #1

Bed Runner (36' x 80.5')

Well, I did it….  I finally finished the bed runner.  Mum was still down last night so I did quite a bit of the hand sewing sitting with her watching tv and then I finished off the bit that was left this afternoon.

I have such a feeling of accomplishment about it too!

It is my first finish since mid October 2010 when I finished the hand binding on Starry Stars and Thousand Triangles (yet to be blogged).

I was at Arndale getting coffee on 2/11/10 and I went to the Newsagent to browse for a card for my Dad’s birthday when I detoured past the patchwork magazines. The pattern on the front of the “Popular Quilting Home Accessories – Special Edition” magazine caught my eye and as much as I tried to talk myself out of buying the magazine I couldn’t quite manage it.

And so, it came home with me 🙂

I then worked out my colour choices and took a side trip to Tricia’s Discount Fabrics on 30/11/10 for more fabric when I was on my way to get my hair done at Brighton.

I had it altogether and ready to quilt by mid December.  At the same time Judy blogged about a UFO Challenge (13/12/10) and I thought it was a good idea considering I hadn’t done much in the way of sewing in 2010 and I really wanted to be more productive this year with my sewing.

I created my UFO list on my laptop and in the first week of January I moved it onto my blog.  I decided that as the runner was nearly done, it would be first on the list of quilts to finish with Dad’s being the next one after that.

It took me 7 weeks to quilt it as it was fiddly with stopping and starting the different thread colours and also because my heart wasn’t in it and I was easily distracted by facebook, reading, the tv….  well, doing anything but quilting!

I perservered though and finished the quilting by the 8/2/11 and had the binding attached (by machine) on 11/2/11.  This was the night before I left for my third trip to Sydney in 3 months!  I did a little bit of hand sewing that night and also in the morning whilst we were waiting for the taxi.

I then had to wait a week to have time to finish the hand sewing – which was today.  I ❤ quiet weekends in 🙂

****

So, what’s next?  Well, I’m off to start pinning Blue Lagoon and hopefully do a bit of quilting on it as well before the weekend finishes.  I’ll try had to finish it by the end of this month so that I’m back on track but I’m not holding my breath!

2 thoughts on “2011: Finish #1

  1. Pingback: Review: Feburary 2011 | Ginger's Quilts

  2. Pingback: 2011: Finish #3 | Ginger's Quilts

Leave a Reply

