Weekend @ Hettie’s

A few weeks back Lorraine from Hettie’s Patch rang me to see if I wanted to participate in November’s class with Kellie from Don’t Look Now as I hadn’t been able to make October’s due to illness.

I had a bit a of a think about it and decided that I did want to do it as I had been disappointed that I hadn’t been able to make the first class.

It was a busy week leading up to the class and I tried to get everything ready for class during the week and of course packed waaay too much!

On Saturday we learnt how to cut out the shapes, iron them onto the background fabric and then sew them on.

Sunday was learning free motion quilting patterns and practicing that on either another blank practice sandwich or just practicing on the square that we had worked on on Saturday.

As I really wanted to have this project done and finished by the end of Sunday I decided that I would just quilt on the cushion that I had already started.

That, and I’m no good at practicing.  I’m too impatient.  I’d rather just go for it 🙂

The 2 things that I really wanted to take away from this weekend was learning different quilting patterns and also how to make a cushion.

Mid Sunday afternoon I finished the machine quilting and then I started bugging Kellie with questions and help so that I could accomplish my 2 learning outcome (sorry, have been studying for tafe too much lately!).

Thankfully, she was very patient with me and didn’t seem annoyed with all my questions!

I got all but the binding sewn onto the cushion by the time they kicked me out 😛 and as we finished still within shopping time I wizzed down to Spotlight to pick up and cushion insert and some loose filling.

Back home I set my machine up and by 7pm that night wa lah!  I was done 🙂

I think it turned out well and I really like my swirls.

***

In other news: Rose was holding a Giveaway for her latest pattern Teen Dreams.  I left a comment as it is a really pretty pattern and now that I know how to make cushions it seemed to fall right up my alley.

However, I wasn’t expecting to win but guess what?  I did!  What’s even better is that it arrived today 🙂  I can’t wait to get some spare time to be able to do some sewing and create it.

Anyways, I know I’m a bit late with this post but better late than never right?

I’m off to finish binding a wall hanging I’m making for a friend at work’s baby girl.  I’ll show a picture and post it when I’m done.

Hope you are all enjoying the sunshine and have finished your Xmas shopping 🙂

One thought on “Weekend @ Hettie’s

Leave a Reply

