2009: Finish #5.4

Last weekend I took quite a bit of handwork with me to do whilst I was at my Mum’s.

Among all my goodies were these placemats which only needed the binding hand stitched onto the back.

There are 8 of them in total but I had been managing to do a few minutes here and there on them in the preceding weeks so I only(!) had 5 more to do.

I spent most of Saturday sewing them down and by the time I went to bed I had 4 more finished.

I had hoped to finish all of them that day so then I could say that they were done but unfortunately it didn’t happen.

I sat down Sunday night when I got back home with the intentions of finishing the lone placemat but that didn’t happen either.

And so it went for the rest of the week, although I did steal a few minutes here and there at work during lunch until there was just a little bit left to do.

So it came to Friday morning and I was sitting at work waiting for 8.30am to roll around to start work and I thought, I should just finish that **** placemat so that it is done with and I can move on with my life and do something else.

And that is exactly what I did!

At that stage they didn’t have a home.  I was toying with either dividing them up and giving 2 workmates 4 each, keeping them together and giving a workmate all of them or just keeping them on hand for a “just in case” present.

Then it came around to today and we were invited down to my cousin’s new house that she had just moved into.

I thought it would be nice to give her a housewarming present and as I’m currently trying not to spend money where I don’t have to I thought the placemats would do the job instead.

She seemed to like them so I think they were a hit 🙂

Ok, I’m now off to finish the xmas placemats, the letter placemats and then my Kokeshi Doll stitchery before it disappears on me!

Leave a Reply

