Relaxing Day

Hi Candace.  Great to see you here 🙂

Hi Kathleen.  I did enjoy today.  My ironing board also has a big brown patch from where the water has leaked on the cover.  I must get around to washing it.  Although, I’ve just found a hole in it so I’m not sure if that is a good idea.

***

I had a relaxing, go with the flow kind of day today.  It was really great.  I did mean to sleep in however, I woke up at 8.45am and couldn’t get back to sleep.  Although, I guess when you get up at 5.20am every day 8.45am is a “sleep in”!!

So Grandma and I went food shopping and where there knocking on the door of Coles at opening time.  It does seem to be a really good time to go food shopping if you have to go on the weekend….

We were home and unpacked by 12.30pm so it was a quick trip.

Then in the afternoon, I did a bit of sewing and then my friend came over and we went to Spotlight as I needed to buy more of the blue that I’m going to use in Galaxy of Stars, more of the mulitcoloured circles and some other fabric for the binding on the baby quilt.

I got a blue(ish) dotted fabric for the binding.  I’m not totally in love with it however, I think it is a hard quilt to find a suitable binding for and this will still look ok.

From there we went and got an icecream – choc orange and choc mud – yum 😀

Then when I got home I’ve just been leader endering 3 quilts.  One is an easy double four patch that I got off Mary’s site.  It is scrappy and I have no plans for it whatsoever.  I am thinking of perhaps making 5 or 6 and giving them to the home where my Nanna lives so that the old people can put them on their laps when they watch tv.  My Nanna already has 2 and a tablerunner that matches one of the quilts.

The second one is the Galaxy of Stars quilt.  It is really coming along and I’m certainly using my 2′ squares!  I’m thinking of a pink/purple(ish) fabric for the setting triangles however, I think at this stage once I’ve got the blocks done I’ll put it to the side until I’ve done a few others.  We’ll see.

And the third one is another Green Ladybird baby quilt.  I was going to give it to my friend due in November – and still might – however, I’ve found another quilt that already has the fabric cut up that I also want to make and get out of the house so this one might be spare.

My work friend is due in January and I think she’s having a girl so I’m going to make a pink quilt next for her.  And if I’m wrong then the second Green Ladybird can be used!

I have Thursday off this week so I’m going to quilt class.  I’ll take the first Green Ladybirds with me to quilt and also Memories of Spring to put another butterfly on it.  I’ll eventually get this one done.  Hopefully by the end of the year!

I hope everyone had a good weekend and I’m now off to bed to get some sleep for another jam packed full day tomorrow 🙂

2 thoughts on “Relaxing Day

  1. It sounds like you packed a lot into your day off. It’s so nice of you to take your grandma shopping. I hope that when my DH and I get too old to drive that our grandchildren will be so lovely. Your quilt plans sound ambitious, and I imagine it has to do with the leaders enders. I need to check into that. Hope you have another nice day off Thursday and enjoy your quilt class.

Leave a Reply

