Frustrated

Right now I am really frustrated with the quilt that I’m making for my brother.

I have spent sooooo many hours on it already, including a lot of the time that my Mum was here and I feel guilty that I didn’t spend enough time with her but that’s another story….

And I can see that it is going to take many more hours before it is finished.  Many more hours than I originally planned as well.

I desperately wanted to have the top done by tonight at the latest so I could take the whole thing to class tomorrow to share and to then buy wadding for it and stick it into a bag until I got home when I could then make the backing and baste it.

However, it is not to be.

It just seems to be taking much longer to piece it (oh, the seams!) as I have to pin everything.  I think I may be running on piecing time – you know, like fiji time – when I am in front of the sewing machine, not real world time!

I do want to show you pictures and have meant to update here long before now but I’m just in such a single minded head space that I can’t seem to do anything but think about finishing this quilt.

That in itself is driving me mad!

I decided Fri/Sat night that instead of making it 2.5 repeats wide I would just add the other half the repeat and make it 3 blocks square (9 blocks in total, 18 halves) which meant that I had to make more units.

As you all know my quilting math just doesn’t work sometimes and it appears to have happened again.

At this point I think I have enough (more than perhaps?) half square triangle units but I will possibly probably definitely be short in the 4 patch units.

So, before I do any damage to it (because no matter what I’ve whinged up above) it is looking really beautiful, I have decided to blog here about my frustrations and then go to sleep.

I have quilt class tomorrow and the whole kit and caboodle is coming with me.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to finish it/complete most of it there.

Something else that is worrying me is that I know in my head that it is going to be 72.5′ square which is 184(ish)cm square which is approx 6 foot square.

That is going to be one big quilt.   How on earth is little old me with my limited quilting skills is going to quilt that?  What on earth was I thinking?

I underestimate things a lot of the time.

“Oh it can’t be that hard”  “Sure, why not I’ll give that a go, it looks easy”

And I think this is going to be yet another one of those times.

At the moment my plan of attack is that I’m going to get the top completed, pin baste it and try to quilt it myself.

If that doesn’t work, I’ll ship it off to Tara to work her magic on it!

Sorry for that rant, but I figure if anyone knows how I’m feeling then it will be you guys.

Ok, I’m off to bed so that tomorrow it can all look happier, brighter and better.

Oh, look!  I don’t have to go to work tomorrow.  I feel better already! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Frustrated

  1. Sorry that you are so frustrated with this project. We really do this for fun, and to share with those we love, and it stinks when things don’t go easily. Maybe the morning will bring with it new hope and you’ll have renewed energy to deal with it. Just remember who it’s for and keep up the work!

  2. Im sure it will all work out fine, try not to worry too much!! I cant wait to see a picture of your progress so far!! You are so lucky to have Tara there for support, she is an amazing quilter!!
    Hugs xxx

Leave a Reply

