Math Help *updated*

Hi Guys

I need some help with half square triangles please.

I need to make 3.5′ half square triangles but I want to do it out of a square of fabric and I want to get 2 half square triangles out of that square.

So, do I cut the starting square at 4′ or 4.5′?  Or something else completely different?

Please help and put me out of my misery.  This is making my head hurt!

Thanks in advance 🙂

*edit*

Thanks Sandy and Tara!  I’ll go home and cut some up at 4.5′ tonight and give it a go.  You guys just saved my mental health!!

Now, how to get home earlier than normal so I can get started with this???? 😀

I’ve changed my mind with my brother’s quilt.  I’ll reveal all tonight!  Don’t worry, I won’t have to buy any more fabric.  Although, I do have to cut more….

3 thoughts on “Math Help *updated*

  1. Hi Kelli
    If you want the HST’s to finish at 3.5″, you need to cut the squares 4 3/8″. If you want the HST’s to finish at 3″, you need to cut the squares at 3 7/8″. Many people like to round up to the nearest half inch to allow for trimming to size.
    *hugs*
    Taz

Leave a Reply

