Aha!

 

When I was cutting out 3′ squares to increase Doreen’s Hearts to 10 x 10 blocks I accidentally cut too many.  Now, I wasn’t too sure what to do with them.  Do I cut them to 2′ square and waste some of the fabric, or do I leave them and maybe make something with them?

Then this morning I had this great idea of making them into another pinwheel table runner.  Cause the one that I have in my room matches the one in the sewing room and was always supposed to go into the sewing room once I had made one for my room out of the ‘spare’ pinwheels from Doreen’s Hearts.

Well, we know what happened to the ‘spare’ pinwheels don’t we? 😀

They got turned into a 48′ square quilt!!

So I am going to add that to my list.

And then, I was thinking about my brother.  He’s turning 21 in June and I really want to give him something that he’ll keep forever a while but I just don’t know what.

I really want to make him a quilt but I can’t seem to find a pattern and he doesn’t want anything like that cause he is scared he is going to ruin it (I have to agree, I saw his place tonight, ick!) and he may soon be leaving to travel the world.

But then I was thinking about the scrap quilts that I’m doing at the moment which are really like ‘free’ quilts because at the end of the day I’m not really buying material for them.  And then I use polyester batting and 1.5m for $15 it’s not that bad.

So, I’ve decided that I’m going to do an Easy Double 4 Patch for my brother in blue and white and at the moment I’m going to do it 10 x 10 blocks which will be about 55′ square.  However, he is 6’5 so I’m thinking I just may have to make it bigger.  We’ll see.

Hopefully he’ll like it.  If not, I’ll take it back and find a home for it.

I feel so much better now that I’ve got something in mind.

Kind of stresses me out though cause I’ve got so many things on the go and I just keep on adding to them without finishing them….  arrrrgggghhhhhh.

2 thoughts on “Aha!

  1. Thanks for the tip Mary.

    I looked through my stash and found some tan fabric but it isn’t going to be enough.

    So I have just realised that I have a lot of white with black fabric that is already cut. I might use that instead as I have a whole pile of similar material that I bought earlier in the year that I could also use.

    I’ll do a test tonight 😀

Leave a Reply

