More Pinwheels!

Today was busy again and I did have plans to bind on the machine 2 placemats but when I sat down I just couldn’t handle the thought of touching them so instead I pieced.

I think that truly I’m a piecer. I like finishing things cause that’s what I also like to do but if you were to give me the option of only finishing quilts or just piecing them I would piece every.single.time.

I sewed a few squares together for the next scrap quilt “Easy Double 4 Patch” from Mary’s blog. I know that I didn’t need to start another project but I do need something to just do mindlessly 😀

I got all the asian pinwheels sewn together so they are a complete set and am now thinking that it is going to be too big for a table runner so am now thinking about borders.

Perhaps a (finished) 2′ first border, a 1′ or 1.5′ second border and a 3′ or bigger third border. What do you think? I’m so not good creating stuff out of my own head. I am a follower of other peoples patterns through and through 🙂

So, I was thinking about what fabric I would use for the border and was thinking of making a quick trip to Quiltaholics to suss out some fabric when I remembered that I am now saving money not spending it.

I pulled out some green and blue fabric from the pile that I bought the other day for $3/m.

So a couple of questions:

  1. Do you like the colours with the pinwheels?
  2. Option (a) or Option (b)?

I’m not sure how big this is going to be just yet but I do know that it is going to be square. I also don’t know if it will be very useful as I am thinking that it not going to be very big.

Perhaps I can just increase the border width and maybe put a white 1′ border before the first border?

I guess I’m going to have to wait and see how big it is first and go from there.

However, I’m still going to need answers to the above questions so please tell me what you think!

Option (a)

 

Option (b)

2 thoughts on “More Pinwheels!

  1. To give yourself a better idea of how the borders will look, lay the quilt on top of them, so the correct amount of each fabric shows on 2 sides of the quilt. That way you’ll see a corner, and your eye won’t be distracted by the extra fabric to the side.

  2. Both work, but i think option A is my preference. That gorgeous blue really frames the pinwheels. Be interested to see which way you go!!

Leave a Reply

